Custom Halibut rod blank

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by flukeman, Feb 27, 2004.

1. flukeman

flukeman Member

Hi all, I need opinions on a good Halibutblank(s) for fishing the Valdez arm,Alaska(Prince William sound)?Also components and reel for same.Should I use an acid wrap for this rig? thanks! AL

2. crawford23

crawford23 Well-Known Member

I know that Finadict, Batman, and Pescador will be able to help you on this. Oh and about the acid wrap, I bet batty and Pescador will recommend it. Don't listen to Batman though...he's in love with those acid wraps...j/k batty

3. Bearfish

Bearfish Well-Known Member

This is the truth....Batty and Pescador are addicted to acid wraps...but if the fish is big and all it may work for you...call scott at ARC and tell hime what your doin and Im 100% sure he will be able to help you out. He got me matched up to the best blank for my situation...bad back...and now Im sold on the AVET reels....Im a beginner to this big fish thing so I can only say what I have been told...so Give Scott a call...hes a truthful stand up dude.

4. Bearfish

Bearfish Well-Known Member

WOW I just noticed your in new york...It may be cheaper to talk to him through the forums....good luck to ya.

5. Carnivore