Gear Review: New SKB Indestructable Tackle Box!

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by The Saltiest, March 26, 2009.

1. The Saltiest

The Saltiest Member

Mark Smith over at Charkbait hooked us up AGAIN - meet the newest addition to the addiction!!! It's the SKB-7100 Tackle Box, created by world-renown SKB Corporation hailing from my (second*) hometown of Orange, California. I guess that the owner/president, Dave Sanderson, who founded the company in 1977 is an avid fisherman (what would you do with your time if you were that rich?), and created these virtually indestructable hardcase tackle boxes due to his own need for something that fit his "hard" style...

[​IMG]

Let's face it, SKB has been the authority for years - making the illest hardshell cases for everything from amplifier heads and guitar/bass cases to your not-so-little nephew's band trombone. They are phenomenal, and I've stood by their product for as long as I've been a touring musician and local producer. What I didn't know (and I may not be alone here), was that SKB has an entire line dedicated to the sportsman - from fishing rod cases (as seen directly below) to something heavy-duty enough to store your on-the-hush Russian-made Kalishinkov automatic.

[​IMG]
    Check out the length on that thing (the rod case, not the beard!)

The specs on the SKB (flagship) Tackle Box read as follows, straight from the horse's mouth: