1. GoletaLocal

GoletaLocal Member

In the past week I have fished Goleta pier a few times mostly between 4-7 pm. I've found the Rockfish(and others) are very spot specific. Lots and lots of small rockies in the 3-7 inch zone. I've gotten on spots where I can pull a fish out every cast. The problem as always when fishing on the pipeline is losing equipment and after last time i went I lost about 5 weights and am unsure If I'm willing to go through that frustration again. I've gotten two Grassy Rockfish around 11-13 inches that I decided to keep(not on the same day.) I also caught a small Sculpin and a small Calico(around 7 inches, and I released those ofcourse.) All the fish I caught were on squid strips, size 1 hooks with a dropper loop or 3 way swivel, 3 oz weight. I've tried to toss a few swim baits out there because I've heard of experienced people slaying lingcod and calicos out here. I'm very NEW to swimbaits, I've never caught a fish on one yet. If anyone has any tips about swimbaits or ideas about how to fish the pipeline without losing as much equipment please let me know. Either way it was fun, In a couple hours you could easily catch 15+ rockfish and maybe a keeper or two if you find the right spot.

Last edited: Feb 28, 2015
    #1 GoletaLocal, Feb 28, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2015
  2. GoletaLocal

GoletaLocal Member

3. beacondawg

beacondawg Well-Known Member

thanks for the report brada

4. J Woodman

J Woodman Well-Known Member

5. creekster

creekster Well-Known Member

6. Batman

Batman Well-Known Member

If you aren't getting snagged you aren't fishing structure right. when i get snagged on swim baits i hold my rod at 90 degrees take out all the slack in the line then repeatedly swing the rod back and forth lime if I'm setting the hook. i have pretty good luck getting my baits back with this technique. also look into jig heads with weed guards.

7. GoletaLocal

GoletaLocal Member