New Boat advice

Discussion in 'Boat Talk' started by SCsurfin21, Oct 2, 2014.

1. SCsurfin21

SCsurfin21 Member

Hey guys. I am looking for a new boat to get in on the crazy fishing action. I started fishing the surf awhile back. I have a lot of experience fishing lakes off my family boat (not an ocean boat). I've always wanted to get out on the ocean, do some inshore fishing, maybe run to the islands, but nothing further than that, and mostly on calm days. I want a walk around because it suits my family a bit, allows my girlfriend to get out of the sun and lay down. But I don't have enough to buy that right now, and I'd rather get a boat to learn the ocean's ropes thats less expensive so if I hit the docks or whatever, I'm not freaking out. I like center consoles for fishing, would love a walk around for a good price. Are cuddy cabin's good for fishing or do they lack room? It also needs to be fairly lightweight. I drive a v6 4x4 Tacoma with 6500lbs max tow.

That being said, whats a good boat thats anywhere from 17ft to about 21ft that would be a good inshore/island hopping boat for around $10,000? I've seen a few Boston Whalers for closer to 15,000 but are pretty old and thats a lot of money for a 35 year old boat that would need work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

BTW I live in Simi Valley, would be going out of Channel Islands Harbor or Ventura Harbor, and would stick mostly towards malibu area or go up towards santa barbara. Occasionally going to the islands.

Thanks guys ahead of time!

Would also like a turn key boat to get in on the fishing action as soon as possible.

2. Carnivore