Tips for a noob in Ventura county

Discussion in 'West Coast - Saltwater Pier, Jetty & Harbor Report' started by Miklo805, Nov 30, 2014.

1. Miklo805

Miklo805 New Member

Hey guys! Just moved to the area in April and just started fishing Ventura pier. I've been throwing cut squid on a double drop rig from my cheap spinning rod. Went out Friday morning, caught and threw back 4 little white croakers and got my bait stole more than a couple times. Also been throwing a hoop net with some mackerel as bait with only one tiny crab to speak of. Any tips for a noob? How can I keep the little guys away and target bigger game? Any tips on using a hoop net? I grew up in Las Vegas and use to shore fish Lake Mead for catfish and stripers but I'm very new to saltwater.

2. Joey805

Joey805 Administrator

Welcome Chris,

Our season is winding down here and the water is cooling. When that happens, the bite also slows down as well. As of 12/31 the groundfish season closes for all the boats and then opens again on 3/1.

If you're looking to fish the surf from the sand, your best bet will be a carolina rig setup with a 1/2oz sliding sinker and some camo gulp sandworms made by Berkley. There are lots of perch to be caught but you'll need to walk the beaches until you find them. As far as from the pier, the action is much better in the spring and summer there when the water is warmer. I'd soak some squid and mackerel there. You'll most likely be catching rays, skates and sharks along with some smaller bait fish.

You may also want to consider jumping on a sport boat out of Ventura or Channel Islands harbor before the season closes, lots of good options for trips right now but again, things are winding down so don't expect lots of yellowtail, seabass and halibut like we normally see earlier in the season. Also check the weather before booking a trip as we are starting to see some winter storms. Wind is our worst enemy up here when fishing from the boats.